About the Author

My name is Daescia but everyone calls me Daisy. I am a freshman at Johnson and Wales University in Providence, Rhode Island. When first exploring different colleges to attend I noticed that there were not too many that had the major I wanted to go to school for, which was Baking and Pastry Arts. After a very long and stressful search I narrowed down to two schools: The Culinary Institute of America and Johnson and Wales University. The Culinary Institute was located in Hyde Park, New York and if I got accepted to Johnson and Wales I was debating between the Providence, Rhode Island campus and the Charlotte, North Carolina campus. I ended up getting accepted to both schools, but after doing further research I felt like Johnson and Wales University fit my needs best. It was also very close to home because I am from Johnston, Rhode Island which is about 20 minutes away from the Johnson and Wales Harborside campus. I chose the Baking and Pastry program because it was always something that I really had a passion for and I already knew so much about it but I knew there was still so much to know and I wanted to embrace all the skills I possibly could.

My biggest influence would be my mom. Growing up she always made my and my sister’s birthday cakes, we got to pick whatever kind of cake we wanted and she would make our ideas come to life. Seeing her make the amazing cakes that she made inspired me to want to do the same. For my mother it was just a small hobby, but I wanted to take it further than that and make a career out of it. I would also watch videos on how to perfect a certain skill on YouTube, which is where I also learned a decent potion of small skills that I know today, such as how to make a buttercream rose. It may sound crazy but I used to watch the show “Cake Boss” all the time, and the main baker known as Buddy was also a big influence of mine. Seeing him make these cakes where he made all the details come to life and look so realistic inspired me because I wanted to be able to do the same and get the same reaction out of people that he did, they were simply amazed.

As I should have mentioned earlier, I hope to be able to open my own bakery after college, the sooner the better. I’ve always wanted to specialize in cake making but learning how to bake other pastries is amazing and it will make my future bakery that much better. I’ve had plans about this for a very long time and hopefully after studying here at Johnson and Wales University for four years I will have all the skills I need to go out into the industry and work. So far I am very happy with my decision on attending Johnson and Wales and still wouldn’t change it. This is a blog I’ve created to give the world a taste of what I have to offer in the baking and pastry industry, so I hope you can enjoy exploring through some classic pastries I’ve made just as much as I enjoyed baking them!

Leave a Reply

